A unique cathedral of the Byzantine style, which has no analogues throughout Georgia.
In 1895, on June 17, the Russian emperor allowed the Governor-General of Imeretia to convene a commission authorized to build a cathedral in Poti. The leadership was entrusted to Niko Nicoladze, who wanted to build a cathedral in the Georgian style, creating for this purpose an appropriate project, which, however, was not approved by the central government. Instead, according to the project of the architects Zelenko and Marfeld, a project was developed, which is a small copy of the cathedral of St. Sofia in Constantinople, for 2000 parishioners.
In 1906, on August 14, on the day of the Feast of the Cross Exaltation, in a solemn atmosphere, the Bishop of Guria-Mingrelia Giorgi (Aladashvili) consecrated the foundation of the future cathedral. May 22, 1907 on the dome of the built cathedral was erected a cross. Construction lasted 8 months. The cathedral was painted by the artist of the Imperial Academy Dumitrashko, the icons were finished in 1908. On the north side, the frescoes were executed in the Byzantine style, in the southern part – Georgian-Byzantine, and in the middle of the cathedral in the Russian-Byzantine Orthodox traditions. Among the icons, two are dedicated to Saint Nino and St. To King David IV. In 1932, the communist government turned the church into a theater.
In 2005, the key to the cathedral was handed over by Georgian President Mikhail Saakashvili to Patriarch of All Georgia Ilya II. To date, reconstructive work is under way, according to the legend of the cathedral of the original species in the Samegrelo area.